Other News

Seahorse freight journalist awards 2023 applaud excellence across all modes of transport and logistics reporting

Seahorse Freight Association celebrated journalistic excellence in the transport and logistics sector during its annual awards ceremony yesterday.

There were 350 entries by 60 journalists across the 13 categories, including Multimedia, Air Cargo, Overland, Maritime, Technology, Multipurpose and Supply Chain Journalist.

There were also awards for Journalist of the Year, News Journalist of the Year, Feature Journalist of the Year, and Rising Star of the Year.

The Personality of the Year Award was granted to Namrata Nadkami, while the Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Roger Hailey.

An additional award was given to honour the memory of John Shingleton, editor and owner of the highly respected Handy Shipping Guide.

Emma Murray, Seahorse chairman, and founder and CEO of Meantime Communications, said: “It is important to not overlook the significance of exceptional journalism. These journalists are the glue that holds the freight industry together.

“Now is the moment for our community to rally together and inspire the next generation of writers to embrace our industry – the Seahorse community holds a distinct advantage in spearheading this initiative.”

The awards were judged by a female majority panel which was comprised of 24 industry professionals from a diverse range of backgrounds.

“Our intention in involving a myriad of professionals was not solely to establish a strong and impartial judging system, but also to illuminate the extraordinary diversity within our industry,” added Murray.

“Through this, we aim to inspire young professionals already engaged or those intrigued by the prospect of joining.”

The Seahorse Awards are supported by headline sponsor AAL Shipping, with categories sponsored by the TT Club, ABS, Lloyd’s Register, Nautilus International, Multimodal, The International Air Cargo Association (TIACA), Davies Turner, PSA International, Raft, OIA Global and Glasgow Prestwick Airport, as well as entertainment sponsored by Awery Aviation Software.

Seahorse was launched in 1962 with the aim of bringing together journalists, PR companies, and industry thought leaders in a relaxed environment to network and grow business.

The Seahorse Freight Journalist Awards, which have been running since 2004, closed temporarily in 2019 before relaunching last year.

The full list of winners are as below:

  • Journalist of the Year – Felicity Landon, Ship Management International
  • News Journalist of the Year – Greg Miller, FreightWaves
  • Feature Journalist of the Year – Michelle Wiese Bockmann, Lloyd’s List
  • Air Cargo Journalist of the Year – Megan Ramsay, Air Cargo News
  • Maritime Journalist of the Year – Mike King, The Loadstar
  • Overland Journalist of the Year – Greg Knowler, Journal of Commerce
  • Supply Chain Journalist of the Year – Felicity Landon, Breakbulk
  • Technology Journalist of the Year – Emmanuel Mair, Container Management
  • Multipurpose Cargo Logistics Journalist of the Year – Sophie Barnes, HLPFI
  • Multimedia Journalist of the Year – Bridget Diakun, Lloyd’s List
  • Rising Star of the Year – Lacey Jones, Container Management
  • Personality of the Year – Namrata Nadkarni, Founder and CEO of Intent Communications Ltd
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Roger Hailey

Image: (left to right) Roger Hailey, Lifetime Achievement Award recipient; Emma Murray, Seahorse Freight Association Chairman CEO and Founder Meantime Communications/